A Man. A Plan. A Sailboat. Bahamas.

Ahoy, Ryan here!

My husband has written over 75 posts to you, dear reader, detailing much of the work he has done over the past two years on our (now very dear) sailboat, Firefly. Chris is never one to toot his own horn, so I’m gonna toot it for him (ha!).

I mentioned in the first post I wrote here at The Bonnie Boat that Chris has been dreaming of going on a sailing adventure ever since he was a little boy. Over the past two years, he was worked tirelessly to make this happen for the both of us. I know you’ve gotten a taste of the work he’s put in reading his posts here, but I’m here to tell you that this blog doesn’t cover the half of it.

Chris has worked through rain, wind, cold, and extreme heat; in the dark, during the day, for hours on end; through frustrations, failures, problems, spectacular successes, and surprises. I’ve seen my husband get more done in a 24-hour period than most people get done in a week or more. I’ve seen him work a 10-hour day followed by 5 hours of work on the boat. I’ve seen him overcome such obstacles.

I’m pretty sure he’s put in at least 1,000-1,200 hours on this project. And now, here at the home stretch, he is running himself ragged to make sure all our boat systems will be operational for our trip down the ICW (Intracoastal Waterway) and beyond, ultimately to the Bahamas.

He has brought this incredible, strange dream into my life and helped me feel like it could be my dream too. I’ve learned so much about him, myself, the meaning of hard work, and about what it means to be part of a team. He’s brought me (sometimes kicking and screaming) into this world of adventure.

I don’t really know how to put into writing how proud I am of this man. I’ve never loved him more.

As he mentioned, we’re going on an adventure together with Firefly. We have about 3 days’ worth of work to get done every day between now and our departure, but, as I mentioned, Chris has taught me that more can be done in a day than you might think.

I’m going to leave you with some of my favorite photos of Chris. He posts way too many of me!

And a photo of our little “team” while underway for good measure!

One thought on “A Man. A Plan. A Sailboat. Bahamas.

  1. I can still see my son as a little boy playing with his toy boat for hours (to be later supplemented by his guitar – thank God his “Heavy Metal” period lasted only 2 weeks! – but the dream of a sailing adventure never left and now he and his bride are about to take off – Bon Voyage!

Leave a Reply

