Chainplates

Lost a bit of momentum here once the temperature dropped consistently below 40…with no toxic goop to spread on the boat I didn’t know what to do with myself. So I sat down and made a list of interior projects that need done, and got to work pulling out the old 12-volt DC electrical system. The components of which, upon examination, appeared to have melted from the heat of the engine. A good choice then, to start from scratch. We’ll probably end up putting in a solar panel for a radio, running lights, and maybe a tiller pilot. That’s a bit down the road at this point.

Another nagging item has been to pull out the chainplates and have a look at what condition they’re in. The chainplates are the hefty chunks of metal which attach the standing rigging (which holds up the mast) to the boat. They’re attached to bulkheads belowdecks and pop up through little slots in the deck.

The backstay chainplate looks pretty rough…

Pretty sure rust and bends are bad

Most of them look like this- a little bit of corrosion but pretty good. I need to do some research and see how much corrosion is too much.

Ryan came out to give me a hand removing the bolts on the last few- some of the chainplates are bolted to bulkheads in the boat that required a set of hands on each side.

Pulled out the last few…

and covered the holes with play-doh!

Oh yea, and the yard pulled the engine out too.

Anyone interested in purchasing an 8 HP diesel engine? Anyone?

7 thoughts on “Chainplates

  1. Still making good progress! Getting more accomplished that I am here. With you diesel out and selling it, What type of propulsion are you thinking of installing? Another diesel, outboard, electric, none? Just curious as I am considering repowering my Alberg 30.

    Thank you

    • Hey Jason,

      We’re prolly going to go with a gasoline powered outboard, the Ariel had a well originally, but it was filled in in ours…We still need to decide whether to cut out the old well or tack the outboard on the back. Not sure if you’re familiar with James Baldwin, but in addition to having circumnavigated in a Triton, he does a lot of work on Albergs- he’s come up with a pretty sweet setup which you can checkout here.

      http://www.atomvoyages.com/gallery/video-gallery/357-1972-alberg-30-refit-part-1.html
      Thanks for reading!

      • Thank you for the suggestion. I am familiar with James and Atom. I, however could never bring myself to cut a large hole in my Alberg. I, too, am considering an outboard and met a couple just last night heading south on the ICW from Maine with 6hp outboard powering a Bristol 30, He said in calm water 5knot is a breeze. Each day I am leaning toward an outboard as well. Keep up the hard work,
        2 years ago now I replaced my chainplates. Yours look like mine and should be fairly easy to make/copy. I ordered 1/4″ stainless that was 1 1/2″ wide and just copied the originals. This material was slightly larger than the stock chainplate material but it was worth piece of mind. The material was sourced from onlinemetals.com and cost me just over $70 to have shipped to Norfolk.
        Good luck.

    • Hey Ben,

      Motor is a 1980 Yanmar YSM 8. It ran in Oct 2013 when we purchased the boat, I haven’t run it since then- I would expect that it needs some loving to get back into top shape. Everything is disconnected at the moment so unfortuantely there is no way to fire it up…I would be happy to get $400 for it.

      Thanks!
      Chris

Leave a Reply

